Cookie Notice

We use cookies to make parts of our website work, and to improve your visitor experience.
If you only allow necessary cookies, some features of our website may not work.

Prizes and Awards available to Southern Asia Region members

Each year the Institution supports the educational and development needs of students, graduates and members with grants totalling some £400,000. 

The awards available to members of the Southern Asia Region are:

Prestige Awards

Alastair Graham-Bryce Award
Fritz Schumacher Award
IMechE Award for Risk Reduction in Mechanical Engineering
James Clayton Prize
James Watt International Gold Medal
Thomas Hawksley Gold Medal and George Stephenson Gold Medal
Verena Winifred Holmes Award

Project Awards (For Affiliates in Sri Lanka only)

Project Award
Best Project Certificate

Student Awards (For Affiliates in Sri Lanka only)

Frederic Barnes Waldron Best Student Award
Best Student Certificate

General awards (for all grades of membership)

Conference Grants
Group Project Award
Skills and CPD awards
The Schools and Clubs Engineering Challenge award

For Young members

YMB Community and Charity Grant
Volunteering and Personal Development Award

Aerospace Division

Kenneth Harris James Prize
Derek George Astridge Safety in Aerospace Award

Powertrain Systems and Fuels Group awards

Powertrain Systems and Fuels Group awards

Management Group Awards

Aspirational Award

Mechatronics, Informatics and Control Group Awards

Joseph Bramah Medal

Power Industries Division Awards


Process Industries Division Awards

IMechE Bulk Materials Handling Award for Innovation
IMechE Bulk Solids Handling Award
Filtration Prize
Ludwig Mond Prize
Moss Prize
Most Distinguished Achievement Award
Most Distinguished Developing Career Achievement Prize
Renewable Strategy Engineering Prize
Thomas Lowe Gray Prize
Viscount Weir Prize

Railway Division Awards

W A Agnew/C N Goodall AwardJ F Alcock Memorial Prize
A R Bennett/C S Lake Award
George Ramshaw Curry Memorial Lecture Honorarium
Richard Herbert Innes Prize
Sir Seymour Biscoe Tritton Memorial Lecture Honorarium
T A Stewart-Dyer/F H Trevithick Prize
Stanley Herbert Whitelegg Memorial Grants

© 2023 Institution of Mechanical Engineers. IMechE is a registered charity in England and Wales number 206882